Composer-in-Residence at Concertgebouw

The Concertgebouw, founded in 1888, selected Huang Ruo to be the first composer-in-residence in its history. The residency that covers the 2015-16 season is launched on December 12, 2015, with the world premiere of Unscrolled, a concerto for piano and orchestra. The Concertgebouw will feature one more world premiere and several other compositions by Huang Ruo. The Chinese-born American composer now lives in Amsterdam and also shares his experiences on Tumblr.


December 12, 2015
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra
Emanuele Arciuli, piano
Emilio Pomàrico, conductor
Het Residentie Orkest

December 16, 2015
Yueh Fei
Chamber Concertono. 1 for 8 musicians
Leaving Sao: for Voice, Percussion, and String Quartet
Score Collective

October 5, 2016
String quartet no. 2
The Flag Project
Carducci String Quartet

November 2016
The Sonic Great Wall
Asko | Schönberg Ensemble

March 2, 2017
New work for ensemble
Asko | Schönberg Ensemble